Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Any welders on here?? Welding gear for a domestic single phase 230v supply?
  • sam3000

Hi….

I’ve been welding for a bit now but i’m no electrician.

I was wanting to start welding at home and wondered if there are any welders (or electricians) on here than can recommend me some gear to use.

I was thinking MMA.

I’ve seen this ….

http://www.weldinggear.co.uk/Mma-Welders/SWP/SWP-ARC-120-PACKAGE_864.htm

would something like this work of my domestic supply ok?

And what would be the maximum (or biggest, beefiest) bit of kit I could safely get away with ( i don’t want to be at my fusebox every 2 minutes)

Nipper99
    Free Member

I used to weld at home fine with an Oxford Bantam set – oil cooled, excellent gear, you can find them on ebay. That is what I would go for if I was looking to get another arc set.

crogthomas
    Free Member

What do you want to weld?

welshfarmer

Those little inverter welders are great. I spent a couple of weeks welding heavy machinery in the local sawmills last summer with one as all the Migs were in use on other jobs. Nothing has fallen apart yet! I would only really contemplate an Arc type welder if everything I was going to weld was 4mm or thicker. For thinner than that I would go with a MIG welder. Something around the 220 Amp mark will still work on a normal 13amp supply> As we all tools, go for the best quality and the best spec you can afford. Buying cheap or low power is always a false economy. Better a good secondhand unit than a cheap chinese Ebay special

nickjb
    Free Member

Anything with up to a 13a fused 3 pin plug will be fine. If you are running it in an out building or detached garage there is a chance the lights will dim a bit if the supply cable isn’t up to it.

kenneththecurtain
    Free Member

What do you want to weld?

I concur.