Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Any VAT gurus in the house?
  • piedidiformaggio
    Free Member

I’m the treasurer for the local badminton club. The council run sports hall we use have said that there are changes to VAT rules regarding clubs and court hire. We meet all the criteria to not have to pay VAT, but the council say that we also have to pay for courts in advance otherwise that will make the hire liable to VAT too. Myself and teasurers from other clubs think this is dangly gentleman vegetables and that we should be able to carry on paying I arrears and it’s just the council after money up front. Does anybody here know if they are right or wrong and can they point me in the direction of the appropriate legislation?

Thanks

poly
    Free Member

I’m not an expert on VAT, especially not obscure VAT exemptions, and even less on upcoming changes – but I do have some experience of VAT and can’t think of any other situation where goods or service are provided and the time of payment affects the VAT status of the supply.

stumpyjon

Surely the VAT is payable at the time of invoice, something VAT exempt wil VAT exempt whenever. Same must apply to VAT exempt organisations.

damo2576
    Free Member

Not an expert on VAT but I pay a lot of it and have found the HMRC helpline very useful. Number on their website.

geoffj

Another non expert here, but a possibility is that if you pay for the court in advance, it may be considered a donation. Probably only applicable if the sports centre is a charity though – grasping at straws a bit really tbh.

piedidiformaggio
    Free Member

Found it. They are wrong!

http://customs.hmrc.gov.uk/channelsPortalWebApp/channelsPortalWebApp.portal?_nfpb=true&_pageLabel=pageVAT_ShowContent&propertyType=document&columns=1&id=HMCE_CL_000154#P183_17839

This is the key bit: