Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 50 total)
  • Any Photoshop Experts ABout
  • shuhockey
    Free Member

I took some photos at a wedding last weekend and a relation would like to use one of the photos for her business, the picture is of their B&B. She would just like me to change the colour of the roof as its slate and there are water lines down it. They cover half the roof so cant just spot heal. I’m a real beginner so advice please.
    Ta

Karl33to
    Free Member

Hard to say without seeing the pic, but if the water lines are just a different color one approach would be to first duplicate the base layer, make a rough selection around the roof using the lasso tool, then apply a layer mask to isolate it from the rest of the building.
    Then with the layer selected go to adjustments – hue and saturation, select the channel which best matches the colour of the water lines and either reduce their saturation or change their hue so they match the rest of the roof better, you may need to do this across a couple of colour channels to completely disguise them.
    If it looks OK you can then spend some time tidying up the layer mask.

If the water line are a different lightness, it’s going to be a bit harder, maybe using the clone tool in place of the hue and saturation.

rascal
    Free Member

Find a hi-res pic of a slate roof on Google images and comp it on over the one in the pic, on a separate layer.
    Distort if need be and layer mask it so you can remove edges where it meets chinmeys, neighbours roof etc.
    Play around with hue/saturation and levels to match the colour of the real roof.
    Should be quite easy.

pacef8
    Free Member

Do a proper clipping path of the roof, copy it to a new layer, selective colour/blur or copy it twice and see what you get in merging filters on the two layers.
    remember to not have the house layer linked.
    soften the masked edge flatten done.

shuhockey
    Free Member

Hi