Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Any MySQL geeks around? :-)
  • woody2000

Bear with me cos I'm learning!

I have an issue with dates being converted to all zeroes. I have a datetime field in one of my tables which should be populated by a date coming in from a web app. The date/time coming in is in the format 7/17/2010 9:18:18 (for example). I assume it's because MySQL was expecting the date in a certain format, and I'm giving it the wrong one. I tried changing the format of the datetime_format variable, but it doesn't help. Google is throwing up some confusing results!

Any idea wise ones? 🙂

ourkidsam
    Free Member

MySQL online documentation is really good. It helped me loads during my brief flirtation. I think I had the same problem in fact. Have you looked here?

Also, is your MySQL field a datetime rather than a date?

xc-steve
    Free Member

I'm a novice too, however if your getting php to write to the database and the date entered is the same date you enter it i.e. is current as opposed to a date in history. If for the date field on the Sql string instead of the variable use 'NOW()' and it'll fill the database with the correct date/time at the time you add it.. if that makes any sense at all (again I'm also a complete novice).

simonfbarnes
    Free Member

it expects yyyy-mm-dd hh:mi:ss

woody2000

It is a datetime field.

Steve – I am using PHP. It's a time stamped transaction that's coming in, so I need the actual time rather than current time. I have a timestamp field that is being correctly populated (after I tweaked the format) thus:
    $systemtime = date('Y/m/d h:i:s', $currenttime);

But that takes UNIX time and converts it accordingly.

woody2000

simon – I've tried changing what it's expecting (I think!), and setting "ALLOW_INVALID_DATES" but no change. Can I reformat the date string I'm getting?

allthepies
    Free Member

Don't you want:-

$systemtime = date('Y-m-d h:i:s', $currenttime);