Viewing 34 posts - 1 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • Any builders in? How much to knock a load bearing wall down and make good
  • julians
    Free Member

We’re thinking about getting a wall knocked down to make two rooms into one. The wall is a load bearing wall so will need some steel support I imagine (but I’m no expert).

What’s the likely rough cost to knock the wall down and tidy up/make good ?

If it makes any different the wall is approx 3.5m long, and the making good will involve repositioning some light switches as well as replastering etc etc.

mattyfez

My old man did it quite some years ago, so I cant advise on cost, buy yes youll need an RSJ, put in which you can then hide behind wood or plasterboard on a frame, something like this..

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/-y1LTZo2PPQ/maxresdefault.jpg

footflaps

Depends where you are but I’d guess at £1.5k to £3k.

It’s a pretty simple job. RSJ will be £200ish, two men and 2-3 days to prop up, cut through, build piers and set the RSJ. Then BC inspect and they put two layers of Plaster board over and make good….

BigJohn

Start with a structural engineer and building control.

We did 2 walls, at right angles then put back up another partition wall. I did a lot myself but we still paid out £3200 for the materials and the work I couldn’t do, like proper building and plastering.

johndoh
    Free Member

It will mainly depend on what exists to tie the RSJ to – if there is existing brickwork and the calcs say it is enough then it is pretty simple. If you need any underpinning/piers building etc it will become more expensive (up to £5k/£6k easily I’d say).

matt_outandabout

and the making good will involve repositioning some light switches

This can add significantly to cost.

TomB