Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 78 total)
  • Another house renovation, but not professional!
  • newrobdob
    Free Member

I like the other thread about renovating a house so I thought I’d share my unending tales of woe, sorry exciting life enhancing opportunity. :/

We moved in with friends as we couldn’t find a house we liked and suited us (and was within budget) – we thought it’d be a few weeks but 14 months later we are still here.

Still, did manage to buy a chuffin huge house….

For West Yorks it’s pretty big, 4.5m square dining room, similar lounge, 3 decent size bedrooms, one to be used as a studio for my wife who is an illustrator by trade.

However we had to, in the end, buy it as a “fixer upper”, with no usable kitchen in it and a lot of work needing doing with no money to do it.

Come join the nightmare adventure!!!

newrobdob
    Free Member

Lounge. Not bad, needs new window, more than 2 sockets, and a radiator in the right place under the window.

And this awful fireplace removing.

At least the plastering is ok.

Dining room. Pretty much the same as the lounge!

newrobdob
    Free Member

Bedrooms ok in general, again need more sockets and rads moving and decorating and front rooms need new windows.

newrobdob
    Free Member

Bathroom not too bad but still needs replacing.

Back of house looks over woods, it’s really nice.

hammyuk
    Free Member

Rads under the windows is the most stupid design idea ever!
    Not one in my house is there – all either nice tall pipes or skirting.
    Nothing worse than drawing your curtains at night and paying to heat the cold air behind them.
    Or worse – tucking the curtains in behind the radiator.

newrobdob
    Free Member

In my experience rads away from the windows create a warm half near the rad and cold round the window, even with decent glazing.

joshvegas
    Free Member

This^

hammyuk
    Free Member

Not if they are placed correctly rather being stuffed behind a door, etc.

newrobdob