Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • Android GPS suggestions
  • jambon
    Free Member

Morning all.

I’m new to Android and smart phones in gereral.

What good (free/cheap) apps are out there for GPS tracking and generally not getting lost on a bike?

Any other apps that I shouldn’t be able to live without? I’d like something that would make the camera work better and make glossy pictures.

Regards.

soma_rich
    Free Member

Mapdroid is very good. No tracking but if your out and have no signal its the only one that will let you keep the maps on your phone.

For tracking I use Endomondo.

andrewrchambers
    Free Member

MMtracker. Costs a fiver but you can put OS maps on it. You can make routes and waypoints in app and it does tracking. Don’t think I could do without it any more.

MMtracker

jambon
    Free Member

Oh – it’s for remote Spain – I’ll have no signal – just GPS from available satellites.

I am a complete newbie to this technology. I have no idea what is capable on these things. Is it possible to download a map from maps.google/similar before hand and then use a GPS in the middle of nowhere using said map? That would be cool.(!)

MrAgreeable

Mapdroyd will let you do that, but it’s not a lot of use for off-road as the maps don’t have OS style detail. It will help you get back to civilisation if you get catastrophically lost though.

soma_rich
    Free Member

Mapdroid can use open street map (OSM) which is almost as good as OS explorer probably better than what is available in remote Spain.

nickjb
    Free Member

I use viewranger and MMtracker. Viewranger is a great app, you can buy OS maps and equivalent foreign ones or download free maps like opencyclemap or bing aerial photos (which is great for finding un-mapped trails). MMtracker reads my old Memory Map maps. Both work without mobile signal

if your out and have no signal its the only one that will let you keep the maps on your phone.

No it isn’t

Raymond