Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Aldi Grout Removal Tool
  • granny_ring

Are these worth a tenner?

oooh click me

Blazin-saddles
    Free Member

How much grout do you need to remove? I tile for a living and I try very hard not to remove any.

If you’ve got a rake out and regrout job in mind it might be worth it, but otherwise I can’t see value in it, even at £10

unovolo
    Free Member

Screwfix sell something similar which gets ok reviews, I have just regrouted my shower enclosure and used a manual handheld grout rake from screwfix which did a sterling job.

I have used dremell in the past with attachment and also a powered multitool and to be honest I felt the handheld grout rake was best, more control and less chance of cutting into a tile and only a replaceable blade to wear out.

http://www.screwfix.com/p/pro-grout-rake-cutter/17903

I can also recommend the Mapei Grout for regrouting, leaves a really nice finish once dry.

wobbliscott
    Free Member

When I re-grouted our shower I firstly tried a hand grout removal tool. Utterly useless, barely touched the surface. Then I tried a Dremel attachment thing, so similar to the Aldi tool. Slightly less useless than the hand tool. I then rented a proper grout removal tool from the hire shop for about £12, basically a reciprocating curved blade. Tore through the grout like a hot knife through butter, I had the whole shower de-grouted in about 30 minutes.

granny_ring

Need to re-grout bathroom, joy of joys….
    Used a raking tool last time when I did a small area over the bath so was hoping this gadget would be quicker.

I’ll look into that also wobbli cheers.

mitsumonkey
    Free Member

For a tenner it’s got to be worth a try, if it’s no good take it back, they usually have a 3 year guarantee on their tools and don’t quibble if you do take it back.

wobbliscott
    Free Member