Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Airnimal Rhino — any good? Anyone here owned one?
  • whollyjordan
    Free Member

Hello!

I have limited space, and want to try off road cycling.

The Airnimal Rhino is marketed as an off roader, and it folds. So maybe..?

Well, seeing how I can’t find one to demo, and I’m a beginner with nothing to compare one to in the first place..

I’d rather hear from people who actually own them, tell me what they think, what they liked and didn’t like etc.

What I assume so far:

1. It has small wheels, so won’t ever be as good as a proper 26”+ bike
    2. It folds, but it’s a faff and won’t be THAT small
    3. um.. it is expensive?

Cheers!

TiRed

It was my introduction to off-road. I took it around swinley on numerous occasions and enjoyed it. The limiting factor was finding good 406 off road tyres.

It’s not a great folder. And I just took the front wheel off for the first fold.

All that said, it’s more capable than people realise, lots of fun, and will get you noticed. The Alfine is a heavy lump on the back.

Mine was stolen (with six other bikes). I miss it, but I didn’t replace it. I actually went for a 29er SS.

demelitia
    Free Member

I don’t have much to add on that particular bike, but if you have concerns over it not being all that small, would it be worthwhile considering just running a full size 26er and taking the wheels off it to reduce the storage size?

With 15 and 20mm hubs you’ve less to worry about as far as wheel removal and replacement is concerned. No faffing about aligning brakes and such.

It does seem like a lot to lay out for something that maybe compromises quite a lot. That amount of cash would get you a very nice ‘proper’ bike.

Edit: Welcome!

maccruiskeen