Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Aghhh fffing Reba Sl lost travel
  • pb2

This is driving me crazy, I bought a pair of Reba SL (29") off a friend who had not used them much. I stored them in the garage for a few months as I gathered the parts for my latest project.

Built it all up, the forks looked low so I pumped them up to 130psi both sides as I'm 200lb with no kit on. Few hundred yards in the test ride and the forks have no travel. Pump them up again and within minutes they are down again You could see oil leaking from the motion control top area and the pressure in the left leg had gone.

My friend tells me he will pay for the parts that need replacing if I can do the work, so I buy a motion control service kit and a dual air service kit plus lube and oil from TFT Tuned.

Even though its my first time working on Rebas the instructions on the Rock Shox site and the you tube video's make the job easy. I once again pump both sides up to 130 psi and I remember thinking the fork legs had not extended as much as I thought they would but to be sure I fit them to the bike and give them a short ride, their plush, their air and oil tight but hold on Houston we have a problem, there is only 2" of travel

A phone call this morning to TFT Tuned does not help, they say the problem could be a lot of things and advise to take it to bits and start all over again. So I have stripped it, checked every last drop of oil is right, removed the 15mm spacer to aid my cause, checked the shafts on both legs have about 5" of travel, re assembled it and guess what ? Even with the 15mm spacer removed I still have 2" of travel

Now I'm getting desperate, I want to ride at the weekend and a plush 2" travel fork is not going to help where I'm heading. Any advice that helps will be greatly appreciated – Thnx Paul

atlaz
    Free Member

Mine had the same and it was the oil seals going. Can't help in terms of spannering as I sent mine back to Merlin and they sorted them for me.