Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Advice on going from van back to car
  • stevemtb
    Free Member

I’ve been running a crew cab van for the past 6+ years. Been absolutely ace for biking duties. It is now got typical Ford rust and a few other issues. Basically feels like a 12 year old van now. Plus insurance seems to be on an upward spiral, playing as much this year for me plus one named driver as I was last year for any driver over 30 🙁

Not had passengers in the back seats for ages, trips have been me only or meet people there. First few years it’d have up to 5 people and bikes on trips.

Positive points though, can sleep in the back seats, can get changed in there, normally a spare bike in, tool box, washer and change of clothes/extras that might be needed are always in it, bikes totally invisible, trip away can include different types of bike.

So how much would I regret moving back to a big estate, or possibly a people carrier. Really don’t fancy the security aspect of bikes on the roof all the time, tow bar mount occasionally could work.

Options at the moment are 1) run the transit until is falls to pieces/chucks up a big bill, 2) replacement smaller van, 3) people carrier, 4) quick estate A6/V70 size, 5) I guess I could spend a couple of grand sorting all issues of current van (just over 100k miles, engine feels fine).

Anyone managed to get rid of their van and not massively regret it?

It’ll never be my only vehicle so doesn’t have to cope with daily duties.

thecaptain
    Free Member

Regardless of the condition of the vehicle, why do you want to switch to a car? Why not just get another similar? Can’t imagine swapping back myself, the big space is far too useful for carrying loads and despite being a LWB it’s not too bad for parking etc.

stevemtb
    Free Member