Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Advice needed: Bike touring
  • fighttheburn
    Free Member

Hi. I'm planning on doing a bit of a bike tour in a few weeks time and have a few queries that I was hoping some of you could help me out with.

Basically, planning on doing 14 days touring with a riding mate- I've never done any more than a weekend before. We're aiming to do about 80km of riding a day give or take. Aim to camp out for most of it.

Any specifically essential kit other than tent, sleeping bag, stove, gas etc?
    Also how much food / Water should we be consuming every day?
    For those of you that have done this kind of thing, what sort of financial budget would you have per day?

Thanks for any input

trail_rat
    Free Member

depends on the country

we did it on 15 quid a day each for food and camping – in new zealand when you were getting 3 dollars to the pound !

in the uk i think it would be nearer 30 quid a day for food and camping each …. although i would camp wild in the uk !

eating lots is my advice – we ate loads.

check http://www.trail-rat-racing.blogspot.com – have details on our kit and our milages on there

hungrymonkey
    Free Member

really depends where you're doing it…

decent puncture proof tyres, and patches (won't need too many tubes then)
    decent padded shorts/tights
    in the uk i'd reckon £15 per day would be more than enough, you should be able to manage on £10 i reckon, esp if camping wild
    eat when you're hungry, drink plenty, have some breaks.
    a wee stretch at the end of the day might be good too.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    hungrymonkey
    Free Member

same as trailrat then 😉

i did NZ on a similar budget, and i reckon iceland even ended up cheaper…

food budget in the uk really depends on how you do it i guess – some porridge, sandwiches for lunch and pasta for dinner, plus snacks.

druidh