Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • Advice: I want to employ someone but it's juts not easy..
  • Tiger6791

I run a small company (about 20 people) and we need to employ a keen grad to pick up some IT admin stuff, learn on the job sort of thing. Nothing brilliant but a nice solid job.

Now you'd think with the economy being in dire straits this would be easy but we've been trying for months now and just can't find anybody. I refuse top pay an agent for this role as I think I shouldn't have to.

Where are all these unemployed grads we here about?

cp

avoiding stuff with admin in the title probably

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

Sadly, I think that many graduates today have overly high expectations of their starting career positions. As cp says above, the word "admin" will put them off straight away, as "I've studied for years, I am a graduate, I do not do Admin! No, I shall be straight in at the top, me!"

😉

warton
    Free Member

where are you based?

Tiger6791

Leafy West London

ctznsmith
    Free Member

It may be that what you're offering doesn't meet the expectations of a graduate who is looking for 'IT' work.

Why limit yourself to graduates if it's learn on the job?

Do you have an existing person they are learning off of? A lot of IT admin work isn't really that taxing…could you get an apprentice and some government support?

FuzzyWuzzy

Why limit yourself to grads? Most of the people I work with (as an IT consultant) don't have degrees and their ability to do their job doesn't suffer for it. For junior roles we tend to get trainees (modern apprentice type scheme or whatever it's called these days), the pay is crap but they learn a lot, get a lot of training and they've all been highly motivated (apart from one dud one a few years back).

domino