Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • aaaagh… CVs…
  • hungrymonkey
    Free Member

i'm just trying to get my CV up to date and in good order – i'm graduating in a few months and i figured i'd probably try and get a job at some point.

i realise that i've to adjust the CV for the job, but i've not applied for any yet.

i've got a general CV, which i think is pretty good for someone in my position (certainly better than a lot of my friends

i've got a really good internship in Tajikistan working for a development NGO (professional experience, not building a school).
    i've some practical voluntary experience
    i've been captain of uni cycling club, and also safety person – hold 1st aid etc, got sponsorship for the club, doubled size and future funding
    i've been a member of my college council, and also worked on its environmental performance.
    i've musical, language (inc self taught japanese), self taught bike skills/maintenance etc
    interests in travel (interesting stuff, not SE Asia gap year stuff), different literature (travel, environmental, communism), sports (mtb, hockey, squash)

through examples i've shown i have; wide range of skills, ability to be self taught and motivated, interpersonal skills, able to teach others, able to organise, work at a high standard etc etc etc.

oh, and a good degree from a top university.

so how the hell do i get it down to 2 pages, with space for referees?

its size 10.5 font, currently times new roman

i know its difficult to say without seeing it, but what sort of thing should i cut out?

steve-g
    Free Member

I think Tesco usually take application forms rather than CVs.

Chew
    Free Member

Dont try and squeeze too much into it, as people wont read it all anyway.

Think Quality, not quantity. Also think of it as a sales document not a factual one, so what skills are you trying to sell that the employer wants to buy.