Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • A noob and his lube
  • Cougar

Nubbish maintenance question.

I'm fairly new to modern mountain bikes and want to keep our shiny toys in something like a reasonable state of repair. I've got wet lube, dry lube, oil, grease, WD-40, and not the vaguest clue what to do with it all.

I've read various guides that suggest what to do "after every ride" or "weekly" or whatever, but realistically I'm simply not going to bother stripping and rebuilding two bikes every time we take them outside for half an hour. Apethy and idleness aside, my thinking is that these guides are all ideal-world so what I'm looking for is some ideas as to what I should be keeping an eye on back in the real world.

Specifically, there's a couple of points I'm really not sure about. First, what should I be doing with the front shocks? They get wiped down regularly but should I be oiling / lubing / greasing them?

Second, the drivetrain. I believe the thinking here is to degrease the chain and then lube it (I've got the free sample of Squirt to try here) but I'm falling down on the first step. How does one degrease it? I've read a trick where you drop the chain and degreaser in a Coke bottle and slosh it around, but the only bike degreaser I've found so far has been in comedy little trigger bottles. Should I be using something else? Are these dedictaed 'chain cleaner' gadget things any good or just a pointless gimmic?

Other than that, how often realistically should I be worrying about things like regreasing the hubs and bearings and suchlike?

DrDomRob
    Free Member

In my opinion the chain cleaner gadgets are definitely worth it! No questions asked.