Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • A hardtail epiphany…
  • hughjayteens
    Free Member

…no, not a new Ellsworth, but rather my mindset after my first ride on a hardtail in 16 years!! I used to race when I was at school and had a shop supplied Fat Chance Wicked! with RS Mag 20s back in the day, but having given up cycling when I passed my test, the Fat Chance sat in my parents garage for for 11 years until I decided to start cycling again, but was sold on retrobike and I started riding again on a Klein Palomino. Roll forward to today and I have been riding a 160mm Maverick ML8 as my only bike for some time now, and whilst I know it is a bit much for most UK stuff, at 28lbs it is light enough and climbs fantastically for me to think I didn’t need another bike.

Since selling my road bike a couple of months ago due to lack of use, I have been slowly building up a Whyte 19 Trail from the classifieds and today was the first day it was used in anger when I headed over to Swinley.

I think I have just redisovered why I enjoy this sport so much!

I love riding the ML8 and have been getting braver and fitter over the last few years, but the 19 has just brought a whole new level of interaction and involvement which just takes me right back to the old days. Apart from not having the confidence on it yet to get any big air, I don’t think I would have been any quicker on any of the trails there on my ML8 and I certainly wouldn’t have had the same experience.

My thighs and forearms were pumped up at the end of the long singletrack sections which I have never noticed before on the ML8 which is just such a capable bike that it makes it all a bit easy I think.

I don’t think I’d take the 19 to Wales over the ML8, but as a winter bike it is just about perfect and I have fallen in love with biking all over again!

If you haven’t ridden a HT for a long time (or ever) I really do suggest you give it a try.. It’s mountain biking, but not as you know it..