Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • A few q regarding tubeless tyres.
  • nosemineb
    Free Member

I am completely new to tubeless tyres. I have Stans Arch rim fitted with stans tape and solution.
    I believe i could put a cyclocross tyre on the rim for road use, any idea how narrow i could go?
    Would i be able to run a 28mm tyre for instance?
    Would i use this narrow tyre with a tube as normal or stay tubeless with fluid? which would be the easiest option?
    When i take the tyre off i presume the Stans fluid need collecting so as not to make a mess, is it then reusable or do you use fresh fluid?
    I simply want to run a very narrow tyre for very occasional road rides on my 29er. A 2nd wheel set seems overkill as it will be rare.
    If i was on tubes still i would just swap tyre, ride and repeat. I am just wondering if the tubeless really makes a hard job of this simple task.
    Help me as i am a tubeless novice!
    Thanks

chiefgrooveguru

I think you’ll need to go with a tube for road pressures. Yes, tubeless makes it a pain swapping tyres but for me the pros hugely outweigh the cons!

MisterT

yes you can re-use the latex solution, although you will loose some of it in the process, and thus need to top-up when going back to larger volume tyres.

possible problems with your plans are that you might find that the cx tyre sidewalls leak (depends on manufacturer) – also that depending on the tyre you might find the need to put an extra layer of rim tape under the stans rim strip – on both points the only way to tell is to try it out.

as with all tubeless setups, you have to experiment and find out for yourself when trying out new combinations of rim/tyre/latex mixes.

MisterT