Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • A few frame painting questions.
  • 06awjudd
    Free Member

Hi all, in process of repainting an old steel frame.
    I’ve stripped the paint and I’m currently sanding down the last specks with 60g sandpaper.
    What grade sandpaper should I use afterwards to smooth the frame before priming?
    How thoroughly should I be? It seems impossible to properly sand around the BB and lugs.
    I also want to paint it racing green, with cream strips on the seat tube and down tube.
    If I spray it green, can I just mask it up and spray the cream on top, or do I need to do the lighter colour first?
    many thanks

Northwind

(I am not a pro but I’ve had good results as a DIYer) 800 grit, wet, is a good finishing grade imo. Wire brush or chemical stripper or a mix of the two is the best diy way to clean out holes and welds etc. You want to be as thorough as you possibly can as the paint will almost always look different if it’s on old paint instead of metal- but, you can get away with it more in welds and other uneven bits of bike, because it’ll look different anyway.

As far as your masking goes, personally I’d spray the smaller part first unless it’s really small- it’ll normally be an easier masking job to cover up the small area than the large. Fine line masking tape is much better than normal masking tape for edges especially if you’re going round corners etc as it gives a better line, easier to shape too and less likely to suffer bleed from a bad mask. The main downside, is that if you end up with a raised line after your clearcoat, it feels a bit weird if your stripe is recessed rather than proud.

What paint are you using? You’ve taken on a pretty complicated job, I totally approve- here’s the first thing I ever sprayed: