• This topic has 11 replies, 9 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by br.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • 580mm bars too narrow for a SS (rigid 29er)?
  • fr0sty
    Free Member

Building up my 1st MTB, am a roadie by day. Will 580 be too narrow to get leverage? Is this a mental question? Excuse me…

Ciao!

mboy
    Free Member

Bar width is all down to personal preference. Nothing at all to do with wheel size on the bike, how many gears it has etc.

Build it up, ride it, if you find them too narrow, buy some wider bars!

FWIW, I started riding with 560mm wide bars (with bar ends on) back in about 1995, and I’ve progressively got wider and wider over the years. Now have 760’s on my full sus bike, and they feel ace!

jeffcapeshop
    Free Member

i thought 580 would be plenty wide enough, coming from road bikes.. it’s not really though, felt pretty out of control – 660 i think mine are now which is fine.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    chutney13
    Free Member

Yes, way too narrow. For me anyway.745 on mine.

umop3pisdn
    Free Member

Slap some bar ends on, **** the haters

mrmo
    Free Member

do you ride near trees, stay narrow.

The current fashion for changing stems and bars and getting ever wider is just b******s, it is an easy way to try and buy excuses. Stem too long, bars to narrow, need more leverage etc.

A crap rider is a crap rider regardless of what they are riding.

Skill matters far more than what you ride.

geordiemick00
    Free Member

depends on the geometry too. I put 760 bars on my Genesis Fortitude race and having a really low down headset arrangement the wider bars made it quite twitchy

mboy
    Free Member

A crap rider is a crap rider regardless of what they are riding.

Correct

Skill matters far more than what you ride.

Correct