Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • 29r travel question
  • LoveTubs
    Free Member

I’ve been musing over the 29r geometry lately and wondered if any owners would provide feedback?
    I’m assuming that 130 to 140(ish) is the standard front end travel and indeed I have used all of my 125 actual on many occasions and could do with 140 tbh.

I have no experience of 29r performance but was wondering that, irrespective of wheel size, one would still require similar travel when negotiating drops that consume such dimensions on a 26r??
    I’m aware fox etc do 140 but generally the travel is less across the 29r spectrum….is it?

I ask because I considering changing to 29.

Thanks.

weeksy

100mm is about average on a 29er. Although things like a Yelli is up to 140mm.

Depends really what you want it to do.

A 100mm XC 29er will happily do your average red/black… Although will feel more harsh than a 26″ 140mm full bouncer.

Yetiman
    Free Member

As long as you manage to carry some speed when launching drops the wheel diameter will make up for some of the lost suspension travel (in my case going from a 160mm Nicolai Helius FR to a 140mm Nicolai Helius AC demo bike), however if you balls up a take-off, like I did, and land slow and heavy then yes, the shorter travel of the 29er will be noticeable. My own 29er AC frame should be here any day now and I can’t wait to get it down some of the more DH orientated trails to give it a proper test.

LoveTubs
    Free Member

Thanks folks, the kind of riding I do is Peak thrashing on my now very old skool RM (but it still performs)and red routes – don’t attempt black due to rig not being up to it.

Um, perhaps 110, 120 would be ideal then?

Now onto material – Ti or steel 😛

big_scot_nanny

as above, IME big multiple hits and hard landings are not covered up by big wheels.

But 120mm with big wheels for most trail riding is absolutely perfect.