Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • 29er wheels for about £400.
  • drifterjoe5
    Free Member

Looking to get some strongish xc wheels for my ridgid 29er I ride half the time singlespeed.

Was looking at hope pro 4 tech xc wheelset but think I’d benefit from something with a wider rim diameter as I ride rigid. Dont want to go as heavy as the enduro rims if possible. Crests probably a bit too flexy. Perhaps mavic crossmax elite or last year’s crossmax xl for something a bit tougher but a tad heavier.

Do you guys think a wider rim is the way to go never had anything wider than 19mm so I have no experience but I’m keen to stick with hope as I like their hubs and I like to buy uk if possible.

whitestone
    Free Member

I’ve the Hope Pro2 XC wheels on my hardtail and they’ve been good and true for 5000Km over the last couple of years. I run Bonty XR4 2.35 up front, XR3 2.2 rear. I weigh 83Kg so not the lightest chap about 😳 I ride mostly old style XC, rarely at trail centres but did a week in the alps last year and I’d no complaint about the wheels.

dknwhy

I’ve got the hope 4 tech xc wheelset. I like them.
    Rims are narrow but mine are on an xc 29er so I’m limited on rear tyre width anyway…

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

I ride Crests (well Rapide’s which are basically MK1 crests), I’m 100kg and can’t make them flex in a bad way (they feel softer, but not to the detriment of handling or anything).

Crest’s on hope (under budget, especially if you build them yourself with the current sale prices on stans rims).

Or you could probably even stretch to LB carbon rims, or if not ICAN or Nextie are IIRC cheaper.

steve_b77
    Free Member

The new wider Stans rims are due out at some point.

On another note I’ve got DT XR331’s on my new bike and they’re very nice indeed

dangeourbrain
    Free Member

Not sure if the arch ex would be too heavy/big but I was looking about a few days ago and this was the best I found for stans/pro4 combo

Clee cycles