Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • £2500 to spend…trails bike wanted! Thoughts please…
  • dconnor84
    Free Member

Hi,

I have a budget of 2500.. I’m basically after an all rounder full sus, capable of trails riding and maybe some DH. I’m no expert and nor do I profess to be but I know that my current ride (Kona Kula) is more suited to typical cross country than the excursions ive been abusing it on! I’ve looked at the alloy Jekylls, the 3 and 4 and also Zesty’s…..

Would just appreciate some advice from more experienced riders… Theres a lot to choose from out there and not all of it has had a review!

Cheers,

Dave

honourablegeorge

Zesty is an excellent all rounder, as is the Stumpjumper. They’d be the two I’d look at.

This thread will now descend into the usual Orange Five argument.

scaled
    Free Member

In true ‘recommend the bike you own’ fashion take a look at the Nukeproof Mega, it’s a lot of bike 😀

Gotama
    Free Member

A friend has just gone from a 5 to a Stumpjumper Evo which rides really nicely. Orange is simple and fun but the stumpy is a better climber, smoother on the downs and still a hoot. Therefore my vote would go stumpy having ridden zesty, five and stumpy. No comment on Jekyll but aren’t they in a different travel camp to the zesty? More Mega, Spec Enduro range? Depends on your ideas of DH but the 150mm trail bikes can still be pretty rapid in the right hands and may be more fun on your usual trails.

mcboo
    Free Member

I’d get this

http://www.canyon.com/_uk/mountainbikes/bike.html?b=2566

£2000, Fox, XTR/XT/DT Swiss wheels, Reverb. Nothing else comes close.

More bike than I’d say you need for the UK but if you are chucking it around why not. Quite a few guys in this parish have them can tell you how they ride.

FuzzyWuzzy

Or the Canyon Strive depending on how much DH you plan on doing, might be overkill a lot of the time but you can still have fun, the bike doesn’t ride itself.

bjj.andy.w
    Free Member