Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • 2016: Fox 34's V Rockshox Pikes
  • applesandoranges
    Free Member

Hi, the five im getting a great deal on comes with fox 34″s and bot the pikes:(.

Jusy wondering how the 34s compare. my main go for with forks is reliabilty because i am not good with suspension and I know regular servcing can be expensive.

Which fork is better for heavier riders?
    Also how does the fox 36’s compare.

Just if the pikes are “a lot” better, i can get good money for my 16 34s and get a pair of pikes secondhand.

coolhandluke
    Free Member

I rode a pals Five with 34’s on, they felt ace.

I’m not tech enough to say why, they did just feel great. Nicer than my Dvo diamonds, I was well miffed.

Dango
    Free Member

Are the fox CTD versions? If so I’d avoid. Pikes are great forks if you can find a deal, very easy to home maintain and IMO will require a little less servicing than FOX

tenacious_doug
    Free Member

Are the fox CTD versions?

Assuming it is the 2016 version, it won’t be CTD, it will be Fit4 which are a world away from the old CTD forks.
    Very very little to choose between the 2016 Pikes & 34s (unlike 2015 and before). Fox’s will be a touch lighter and slightly better damping, RS will be a touch stiffer perhaps. I don’t believe there is much difference in service intervals on the 2016 models either. The differences are certainly not enough that it is worth paying money to swap from one to the other.

I went for the 34s on my build last year over the Pikes and no regrets.

applesandoranges
    Free Member

Thanks from what i heard think ill just stick with the 34s. Suprised that they are not much diffrent when the orange pro has 34s and tbe RS has pikes. Specially when you consider how much more expensive the rs is.

hughjayteens
    Free Member

Maybe the 34s are the ‘performance’ version rather than the ‘factory’ ones which have better damping?

cheekyboy
    Free Member