Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • 2013 pikes seal and lube change.
  • mactheknife

After running mine all winter I would like to take the lowers off and change the lube oil and give the seals a clean. I have the PDF on how to remove them, just need to get the oil ordered later.

Any advice would be appreciated, I have never done this before but I’m pretty decent at doing the rest of the bike myself.

Ta 🙂

fozzybear
    Free Member

Peice of pie.
    The easiest forks I’ve had to service.
    How much are you stripping them?
    Fitting new seals to the air damper?
    Make sure you twist the cap the air damper circlip sits in before attempting to remove it.
    If so get some decent circlip pliers mine were twisting under the force needed to pinch the ring (fairly cheap ones).
    Use slick hunny for lube.
    The air damper is a sod to get pushed in while removing the clip no easy way.
    Find a decent price of doul for attaching a clean rag to, to get to the bottom of the legs.

LoCo
    Free Member

And mind the rebound side bottom bolt as they are rather soft 😉

fozzybear
    Free Member

Care you don’t do as I did.
    There is a small port on the air damper to equalise the pressures. I was a bit to enthusiastic with the grease and blocked mine.

If you **** up loco/tftuned are a great help.

Port was blocked Simon.
    Hammered them in afan at the weekend and that sorted them.

LoCo
    Free Member

Nobody likes a blocked port do they…

fozzybear
    Free Member

Oh yes and get some spare crush washers…
    One of mine was totally goosed and had pulled into the lower leg.

mactheknife

fozzybear – all i want to do is a seal clean and re-lube. And i think that’s above my technical ability at the moment 🙂

bravesirrobin