Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • 2001 Volvo V70
  • deejayen
    Free Member

I met someone who’s selling one of these – apparently a 2.4 litre petrol automatic estate for £900. It should be in good condition (knowing the selling). I wasn’t thinking about buying anything like that, but I imagine it might be good for carting bikes around! I just wondered what they’re like to drive and own – I imagine they’re comfortable and good for long journeys, but don’t handle well. He reckons he gets 30mpg (driving steadily) which doesn’t sound good. They’re probably expensive to maintain, too. 30mpg makes me wonder about an LPG conversion, although I have no experience of these.

sharkbait
    Free Member

We had a 2000 T5. Heavy cars but went really well. Masses of space inside, very comfortable and you feel well protected. Brakes very powerful (better than the XC90 which surpised me).

Issues are:
    MPG is prob what you’ve been told
    There were issues with the throttle bodies on these but I’m positive that car would have been fixed if it had ever had the problem.
    Front tyre wear
    Used to go through droplinks quite often but easy and cheap to fix yourself

sofaboy73
    Free Member

imagine driving an oil tanker – that

in all honesty the V70’s are the direct descendants of their old school estates and they pretty much invented the category – so yes, they’re awesome at what they do. if you want space, comfort and safety you’d struggle to find better. engines are usually strong still after 150,000+ miles, however they are not as bullet proof as they used to be and 90’s to early naughties they went through a rough patch with reliability (one of their original cornerstones of sucess) – in no way helped by fords ownership.

not particularly cheap to fix for major faults with original parts and older ones are thirsty, but if you want a wagon for road trips i think there are few better (but then again i like saabs also)