Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • 1×9. A couple of questions.
  • I’ve been racing a Rohloff for a couple of years now.
    Despite what others say, I don’t find the slight extra weight, or the fact that all the weight is at the back, a problem.
    Having recently built a singlespeed, I do notice the extra drag when I get back on the Rohloff though.

I’m thinking of maybe going for a best of both worlds, or compromise, depending on how you look at it, by building a 1×9.

Two questions then.

34×13 on the Rohloff gives me gears in metres of
    1.6 1.8 2.0 2.3 2.6 3.0 3.4 3.8 4.4 5.0 5.6 6.4 7.3 8.3

32×11-34 would give me
    2.0 2.3 2.7 3.0 3.4 4.1 4.6 5.3 6.3
    So that would be like losing the bottom two and top two gears.

Is there a wider spread cassette available ?
    I’m guessing no. 11 is the smallest that will fit around the freewheel and 34 is the biggest that the derailleur can cope with. Have I got that right ?

Is there any problem with chain flex using all 9 sprockets with one chain ring ?
    Normal practice on 2×5 or 3×9 or whatever is not use big to big or small to small.
    With one ring in the centre position of a triple chainset is it really OK to use all 9 on the back ?
    Other people do, so it must work, I’m just worried that by losing the two bottom gears, I’m going to end up in 1st, which will feel like 3rd, at maximum grind with the chain at maximum flex.
    Is that likely to be a problem ?

damo2576
    Free Member

1×10 and you could get 11-36 cassette? Not sure if there is a 9ps 11-36?

SpokesCycles
    Free Member

There are 11-36 cassettes available for 9 and 10 speed. While you do lose the top end gears be honest with yourself about how much you’d use them- I know now I’ve gone without I don’t miss them. Also the low end gears- there’s no need if you’re fit, so you’ll probably be OK.

The only 11-36 cassette I can find is a SRAM XX at £208.