Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • 1x now dropping chain
  • zacgillbanks
    Free Member

I’ve been running 1×10 for around 6 months on my hardtail and have ridden just over 2000 miles on it – pretty much on roads, tarmac and well surfaced bridleways so the drivetrain hasn’t been hammered with much mud and grime.

Over the last few weeks the chain has been falling off the chainring onto the pedal when I go fast over rough ground but only when freewheeling with the chain in the smallest cog at the back. I’m assuming the ‘thick-thin-ness’ of the Race Face chainring has started to wear so isn’t holding the chain as well as before.

I had originally set the chain length to be correct for a 36t ring, quickly swapped to a 34t but didn’t shorten the chain. If I shorten the chain a bit would this improve retention, or is it time to replace the chainring?

Rear mech is a clutch Zee and I’m not running a chain device.

bigblackshed

First up check the clutch is “on” on the mech.

Then check the chain for wear. Most likely worn past the 75% limit. If not then shorten it to the correct length.

If worn, then new chain and the correct length.

ianfitz
    Free Member

Possible that cos the chain now effectively is two links too long the tension in the rear mech (clutch or not) isn’t enough to hold it on over bumps. That and a bit of chain stretch and wear on the chainring all adds up.

You can pop a couple of links out easy enough though to see.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

I’m assuming the ‘thick-thin-ness’ of the Race Face chainring has started to wear so isn’t holding the chain as well as before.

Does it look like it has?
    Check the chain growth
    Check the ring
    Check the clutch is on and still works

zacgillbanks
    Free Member

Thanks for the info. The clutch is on – not sure how to tell if it still works though?