Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • 1st Ski Holiday for a 5 yr old – What do we need?
  • FunkyDunc
    Free Member

Jnr FD will be going on his first ski holiday this year being just under 5.

We have already got him a jacket and salopettess in the sales, along with thermals. Need to get goggles and gloves (daft question, mittens or gloves).

What other stuff is essential/good to have?

Ta

sweaman2
    Free Member

At least 2 of everything for when one gets wet/ dropped in the snow etc.
    Mittens are easier to get on / off cold hands than gloves. Get them larger than you think to avoid too much wrestling.
    Helmet if actually skiing?
    Hand/Boot warmers are useful as they can also be shoved in jacket pockets etc for extra warmth.

Cougar

I’m no expert, but I imagine skis might come in useful.

Ask the ski school what’s expected?

tallie
    Free Member

Some form of buff / headover? My 4 year old loved her Hello Kitty buff / fleece neck warmer; presumably there’s a boy equivalent.

Couple of pairs of decent warm wool socks – surprising hard to find we found.

Sunglasses – you can buy in resort fairly reasonably if you can’t find anything suitable in UK, arguably more useful than goggles.

Skis, boots and helmet are normally provided by the ski school.

Worth putting his name in all of his kit and we found some bungy cord attaching the gloves / mittens through jacket help prevent dropped gloves and cold hands.

TheDTs
    Free Member

To understand that very soon you will be following him and struggling to keep up… Also taking ours for the first time this year.

FunkyDunc
    Free Member

To understand that very soon you will be following him and struggling to keep up… Also taking ours for the first time this year.

I doubt it, I used to be one of the best ski racers in the country 😛

howsyourdad1
    Free Member

County?

sweaman2
    Free Member

I doubt it, I used to be one of the best ski racers in the country