Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • 100mm travel enough, HT or FS
  • lee170
    Free Member

The time has come to buy a new bike, I’ve been riding HT for the last 6 years and never seen the point in having a FS again until now!
    Sold my hardtail and currently riding my winter warrior rigid inbred.
    My LBS has a few 2013 discounted bikes left,
    Choices are;
    All size medium

Hardtails;
    Scott scale 740 27.5 alu
    Scott scale carbon 630 26er
    Scale 920 29er
    FS;
    Scott spark 940 29er
    Cannondale scalpel 29er

All the above are 100mm travel, is 100mm travel enough for natural trails(north York moors etc)
    And trail centres like hamsterley forest, Dalby, whinlatter etc
    My previous HT was 120mm and was fine,
    Would a 100mm limit me in any way, I do drop offs, jumps(nothing big just whatever’s on the black graded routes)

Stay with Hardtail or go FS???

xcneil
    Free Member

It’s a riders skills that lets people down rather than lack of travel so from what you have described and in my opinion I’d say 100mm travel full sus would be fine, cannondale every time

Northwind

100mm will be enough. More might be better. I just converted my Soda from 100mm to 120mm, downside seems to be basically nothing so having done it, the only question is why I didn’t do it before.

But ymmv.

z1ppy

I’d suggest on a 29er 100mm is fine, on a 26er, it’s for racing.

Lots of great 29er’s out the and also loads of so-so ones too.. don’t be limited by your LBS’s stock. 😉

As for HT vs FS.. try them, only you will know what suit you. I bought a 29er HT for the winter & ended up using it all year due to limited cash flow and broken bikes. It’s been ace but I still want a FS again (29er though), come next years dry weather.

gringojimi
    Free Member

For Dalby (and all the Welsh trail centres I’ve been to), 100mm is plenty. It’s also great fun to be able to whizz by the lardy buggers on 140+ as they bob up the climbs…